I am a musician who plays an acoustic instrument. I want to play electro-acoustic stuff. What should I do about a microphone?

This is a question I have received several times:

I play [flute/clarinet/trumpet/viola/etc]. Please tell me what gear I need for live performance with amplification.

Little Microphones for Live (and also Recording) Micro-Lecture:

The “standard” instrument mic for live situations is made by a company called DPA. You can buy them in kits based on what instrument you play. You can also customize those kits a little bit. The main thing to look for is the DPA 4099 or the DPA 4061 depending on your needs (when in doubt, get the DPA 4099).

The mic system consists of five things:

1. A tiny microphone.
  2. A gooseneck thingie for positioning the mic.
  3. A long tiny “microdot” cable.
  4. An XLR adaptor (XLR is the standard kind of microphone cable, with three prongs).
  5. Some method for attaching all of this to the performer’s instrument or head.

Here’s what to know about each of these things:

The tiny microphone:
DPA 4099 is a mic that pics up sound primarily from one direction (this is called a “cardioid” pattern). This is recommended for live performance because less sound will bleed in from the people sitting around you.

DPA 4061 is a mic that pics up sound from all over. This can be better in some circumstances and for some instruments (double bass is one of them). But care will need to be taken to prevent bleed and feedback. If you have one of these, be sure the engineer knows ahead of time. Also, understand that you might not be able to get very loud before feedback starts, so be sure to perform at the louder end of your dynamic range.

Both of these are excellent microphones. They will sound fantastic on stage. They will sound fantastic in recordings. When in doubt, go with the DPA 4099.